The 8 Limbs Of Ashtanga Yoga - #7 DHYANA

Ashtanga 8 Limbs Yoga DYANA

The 7th limb of the Ashtanga 8 Limbs of Yoga is DHYANA, an uninterrupted flow of concentration which is meditation or contemplation.

Although concentration (dharana) and meditation (dhyana) may appear to be one and the same, a fine line of distinction exists between these two stages. Where dharana practices one-pointed attention, dhyana is ultimately a state of being keenly aware without focus.

At this stage, the mind has been quieted, and in the stillness it produces few or no thoughts at all. While this may seem a difficult if not impossible task, remember that yoga is a process. Even though we may not attain the "picture perfect" pose, or the ideal state of consciousness, we benefit at every stage of our progress.

Channeling concentration on our Shantihi Hot Yoga Towel

Leave a comment

Name .
Message .