The 8 Limbs Of Ashtanga Yoga - #6 DHARANA

Ashtanga 8 Limbs Yoga DHARANA

DHARANA means focused concentration and is the 6th limb of the Ashtanga 8 Limbs of Yoga. Closely linked to the previous two limbs; dharana and pratyahara are essential part of the same aspect.

In order to focus on something, the senses must withdraw so that all attention is put on that point of concentration, and in order to draw our senses in, we must focus and concentrate intently.

Candle gazing, visualisation, and focusing on the breath are all practices of dharana, and it’s this stage many of us get to when we think we’re meditating.

Here’s to finding peace in your yoga practice.

Leave a comment

Name .
Message .