The 8 Limbs Of Ashtanga Yoga - #5 PRATYAHARA

Ashtanga 8 Limbs yoga Pratyahara

PRATYAHARA, the fifth limb of the Ashtanga 8 Limbs of Yoga means withdrawal or sensory transcendence. It is during this stage that we make the conscious effort to draw our awareness away from the external world and outside stimuli. Keenly aware of, yet cultivating a detachment from our senses, we direct our attention internally.

The yoga practice of pratyahara provides us with an opportunity to step back and take a look at ourselves. This withdrawal allows us to objectively observe our cravings, habits that are perhaps detrimental to our health and which likely interfere with our inner growth.

Steady in a Warrior Pose on our Shantihi Hot Yoga Towel

Leave a comment

Name .
Message .