The 8 Limbs Of Ashtanga Yoga - #3 ASANA

ashtanga 8 limbs of yoga

Asanas, the postures practiced in yoga, comprise the third limb in the Ashtanga 8 Limbs of Yoga. Through the practice of asanas, we develop the habit of discipline and the ability to concentrate, both of which are necessary for meditation.

Note that the word ASANA here doesn’t refer to the ability to perform a handstand or an impressive backbend, it means ‘seat’ - specifically the seat you would take for the practice of meditation.

Perhaps this is something to consider in your next yoga class if you always tend to choose the ‘advanced’ posture offered, rather than the one your body is able to attain: “In how many poses are we really comfortable and steady?”

Channeling Dancer's Pose on our Shantihi Hot Yoga Towel. Get your own to help with a steadier practice.

Leave a comment

Name .
Message .