The 8 Limbs Of Ashtanga Yoga - #1 YAMA

Ashtanga Yoga 8 Limbs YAMA

You may be familiar with yoga poses and maybe even yoga breathing techniques, but did you know that yoga was intended to be an entire lifestyle and way of living?
According to Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras, there is an eight-fold path leading to liberation, known as the ‘Ashtanga Yoga System’ or ‘8 Limbs of Yoga’ (the word ‘ashta’ means ‘eight’ and ‘anga’ means ‘limb’).
Today we will focus on the first limb YAMA, which deals with one's ethical standards and sense of integrity, focusing on our behavior and how we conduct ourselves in life. Yamas are universal practices that relate best to what we know as the Golden Rule, "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you."
The five YAMAs are:
Ahimsa - nonviolence
Satya - truthfulness
Asteya - nonstealing
Brahmacharya - continence
Aparigraha - non-coveting

Leave a comment

Name .
Message .